From My Heart

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight. – Proverbs 3:5-6 -NIV

Created To Do What?

Well, it’s shaping up to be a very busy summer. Our July 1st outreach in KP Park is just around the corner and Connection 2010 right on the heels of that! God has given us some tremendous opportunities to reach out to the people of Salmo. He is already working in the lives of many and has shown us places where He wants us to get involved. God created us to serve and wants to use us in a mighty way. That is very exciting and humbling to me; and of course it can be frightening too.

Serving God calls us to forget ourselves in order to help others. It is not something we do just when we feel like it, but is a calling that lasts a lifetime. A calling that doesn’t end until God takes us home. Service is hard at times because it is not a short term responsibility. When we became a child of God, he did not ask that we devote an hour or two a week to honor and serve him. What he wants is our life, not the leftover pieces. I want to make my life count for something. I don’t mean I want to be great in the eyes of men. I am not concerned about prestige or possessions. I try to remember “Store up for yourselves treasures in heaven where moth and rust do not destroy and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:19-20 NIV
Now I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to just get by in life. I want to be about the business of the Lord! At the end of my life when I am face to face with our Lord I want to hear “well done good and faithful servant.”

John Newton once said “If two angels were to receive at the same moment a commission from God, one to go down and rule earth’s grandest empire the other to go and sweep the streets of its meanest village, it would be a matter of entire indifference to each which service fell to his lot, the post of ruler or the post of scavenger; for the joy of the angels lies only in obedience to God’s will.”

What should my service look like? The short answer to that question is to live as Jesus lived. Jesus is our example. When we pattern our lives after Him we will serve God as He did. Now for a lot of people this is a scary thought.
I have heard from people “My life is in such trouble that I’ve got to look out for myself first. I’m am too busy I don’t have any time to help anybody else; I can barely make ends meet as it is, I can’t afford to help out others. Maybe when I pull myself together, I’ll have time for God and serving others.” Then there are those statements like “well if those people were a little nicer I would be more willing to help, or they have made bad choices they can face the consequences”.
People are basically afraid that if they give to God and others that they’ll come out on the short end of the stick and their stick is pretty short to begin with. God loves us, all of us, no matter what path we have chosen in life. He also commands us who are His children, who have been forgiven because of the sacrifice of Jesus to sacrifice for others. A sacrifice isn’t doing something when it’s comfortable, easy, something you want to do.
If you’re one of those people who are making any of the excuses why you can’t serve, here’s what God says to you “Just close your eyes and jump into serving me and others and see what happens. See if your life doesn’t change for the better, don’t be afraid just jump in.” So I challenge you to make a decision to just jump into all that God has for you in serving Him and others. This summer you will have a perfect opportunity to try your hand at serving!

Yes, we all have limited resources, limited time, and limited energy. God promises that if we step out and do what He asks that He will provide all we need. This summer He is supplying help and resources for a projects He has given us. We have team of young people arriving in Salmo to help us with the July 1st games in the park. This is a huge answer to prayer. We will have enough people to staff all the games for the children and we will be able to interact more witht he parents.
The 1st week in August we have another misson team of arriving to help us with Connection 2010. They all have a heart to serve God. They care about us and the people in Salmo that do not know the Lord. They are traveling 1443 miles at their own expense and using over a week of their personal time because they care. They have spent countless hours in planning and gathering supplies for us to use during the week. Will you give a few hours of your time to join in this exciting mission God has given us? What will it cost you? It may cost you energy, it may cost you money, it may cost you watching your favorite TV program, and the list could go on. But does it really matter what it will cost you? Romans 12 speaks of us offering ourselves as living sacrifices to God being our” reasonable service”. Yes, it will cost us and we’ll be tired. There is a song that I have listened to often the last few months and it has given me much needed encouragement. It’s called Good Tired. The chorus goes like this, “A good tired is when you know you have done the best you can to reach out to a hurting world and lend a helping hand. No matter who or where you are you can make a difference. But I can tell you there will be times when you’ll get tired but that’s a good tired”. Are you willing to do all you can to reach the hurting people of Salmo; are you willing to get “good tired”?

Serving Him with you,
Donna

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

