From My Heart

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight. – Proverbs 3:5-6 -NIV

The Lazy Days of Summer

I heard this term used a lot as a child but I don’t recall hearing it much in recent years. What does it really mean? Is it for days gone by?

Growing up in Oregon my summers were not spent idly. I worked in the berry and bean fields for my school clothes money. However I did have ample time to walk along the creek that was near my home, jump on my horse and ride to the back pasture, or walk through the orchard and climb a tree and just sit. If I was lucky and had 25 cents I would walk ½ a mile and get a bottle of Strawberry Shasta from the country store. And then there was one of my favorite things to do on a hot summer afternoon; flop down in the cool grass of the back yard. There is something about lying on your back feeling the grass between your toes and watching the puffy clouds go by.

Somehow as an adult I seem to have lost sight of the benefit of “flopping down in the cool grass”. My summer days are most certainly not lazy. I have so many things on my to-do list that there is no time to enjoy feeling the grass between my toes. At least that is my reasoning. Today I went outside to take care of couple things on my list. Then I spotted a shady spot in the grass. I did something I haven’t done in years; flopped down in the grass. It felt really good. Our dog must have thought it looked good too because she came to join me. We played for a while. For a moment I felt guilty for wasting time when I had so much to do but then I realized that I could spare a few minutes. Then I looked up and the clouds and God reminded me once again of one word He has been speaking to me lately; “Abide”. “Slow down and abide in me.” God did not intend for us to get so busy that we don’t have time to enjoy the beauty of his creation. We should be able to feel the breeze on our faces and the grass between our toes and remember Who made it all and Who is in control.

After I got up from my rest in the grass, did the tasks that needed to be done and came back in the house. I started thinking about why the lazy days of summer seem to no longer exist. We don’t allow them to exist! Then I did a search and found this quote. “Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass on a summer day listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is hardly a waste of time.” ~ John Lubbock

I couldn’t have said it better myself. I took the time to lie in the grass and I still got everything done that was important and hey I even had time to write this!
Slow down, feel the grass between your toes and Abide in Him.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

