From My Heart

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight. – Proverbs 3:5-6 -NIV

Jesus the Peacemaker

No matter what God takes you to He will provide a way for you to make it through. I have heard that statement countless times in my life. To some extent I believed it but I am very sad to admit that for many years in my life I never even gave God the chance to be true to His word. I thought that it sounded good but my problems were too big; I had made too much of a mess of my life. I must get it straightened out on my own. I not only didn’t get things straightened out but they got more twisted. When God is not in control things never go as well as they should. Sure for a time it all seems good. You think yes, I am beginning to get this taken care of. Then another storm hits. And we are crying as the disciples did. The storm is raging. The disciples in the boat ran for their Lord, asleep in the back of the boat. “Lord, we are drowning; help us!” You remember the story well. He arose, the Mighty Man who made the sea. “Peace, be still!” He called and the winds and waves obeyed. Better yet, He calmed the winds and waves deep within the heart of each man in the storm. That’s our Lord–He’s a Peacemaker. We are in this boat we call life. It’s our life and we think we should live it the way we want. We want control of the rudder. When actually God gave us this life to live for Him. We are still here on earth because He has something for us to do. He wants us to live according to His plan and He has huge blessings for us along the way. But because of our willful attitude we are missing out on the huge blessings He has for us.
As I’ve grown to trust Him more I see His provision in more detail. He is constantly with us. I know in our minds that most of us who are His children believe that He is around but do we believe that He will provide. Many of you may have heard the statement “You believe in God but do you BELIEVE God.” This is something all of us need to honestly think about. Do you believe that the Bible is God speaking to you? Do you believe the promises He makes in His word are promises for you today? How sad it is that we ask Him for help then jump in and try to handle it ourselves. We are cheating ourselves of huge blessings. There is tremendous joy of seeing our heavenly Father at work. The next time you face a challenge in your life be it big or small take it to the true Peacemaker. Leave it there and see Him work! You will be amazed at the peace and freedom you feel. Then you will see God’s way of working it all out. God will use you in mighty ways. I wish you all His Peace. Keep Him at the helm of your boat.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

