From My Heart

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight. – Proverbs 3:5-6 -NIV

Does God call me friend?

Recently I had lengthy conversation with someone about true friendship. The term “friend” is used way too loosely in my opinion. What is a friend? Is it someone you socialize with? That is how the word friend is most often used today. I would argue that is not a friend. That is an acquaintance.

The test of a true friend is trust, consideration, putting their needs before their own. They will be there to help without any expectations of anything in return. There will be no excuses of being too busy when you really need them. In that time they will support you even when the rest of the world opposes you. You may have lots of acquaintances but true friends are rare. If you become a true friend to someone you will be blessed in return. I have been blessed with one true friend. I thank God for her often.

I went home after this discussion about friendship and began pondering it. I thought about God calling Abraham friend. “And the scripture was fulfilled that says “Abraham believed God and it was credited to him as righteousness and he was called God’s friend.” You see that a person is considered righteous by what they do and not by faith alone. James 2:23-24

That spurred my thoughts even more.. My dear friend is not a true friend just because she or I think she is. She is a true friend because of her actions. What she says and does shows the true intentions of her heart.
Proverbs 17:17 says that a friend loves at all times. Do I love God at all times; good or bad? My friend and I look forward to spending time together. When we do we listen closely to each other. Do I look forward to spending time with God? Do I do all the talking? Or do I take time to listen to him like I do with my friend?
When God asks me to do something do I worry about what I will get in return; how much will it cost me or what others will think of me? Do I believe and trust in God as Abraham did? The answers to these questions will show my true heart and commitment to my God. There could be no better; truer friend than Him. Does God call me friend?

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

