From My Heart

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight. – Proverbs 3:5-6 -NIV

I’ve been watching you!

A few years ago someone said to me “I’ve been watching you”. Those words sent a chill down my spine. This young woman was going to be moving away in a few days. She was thanking me for helping her through a rough time. She said that I had been an inspiration to her as she watched me react to difficult situations in a Christ-like manner. I was pleased and humbled by her words. However when she said “I’ve been watching” I realized the huge responsibility I had. I claim the name of Jesus and the world is indeed watching!

How do we react in any given situation? When someone wrongs us do we respond with love? Just as our actions/reactions reflect on our earthly family they also reflect on our Heavenly Father! I would say even more so. “But now you must also rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips. Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.” Colossians 3:8-10

Recently I read a post from a professing Sister in Christ using profanity and cutting remarks on Facebook. She wanted the world to know how she had been wronged and how angry she was. Then 4 days later she posted “if you are a Christian and aren’t afraid to admit it repost this”. It broke my heart to see this all unfold. I can only imagine how it must grieve our Father when His children conduct themselves like this. We are called to show Christ to the world. It’s no mystery to me that The world who is watching us has a poor opinion of Christianity. The way we treat others and the words we speak carry so much weight. There is so much potential to do irreparable damage to an individual and our own personal witness.
“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” Ephesians 4:29
“What goes into someone’s mouth does not defile them, but what comes out of their mouth, that is what defiles them.” Matthew 15:11

Your witness is more than your words. You actions speak volumes. How do we react when we have a task to do that we dislike or if something extra comes our way that we had not planned on?
“Do everything without grumbling or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation. Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky” Philippians 2:14-15

My desire is to be a good reflection of my Heavenly Father, to not bring any shame to the Family of God. It is my responsibility to conduct myself in a manner that is pleasing to God. I must. as a child of God bring my actions and words in alignment with what He would have me do. It is a proven fact that if you spend a great deal of time with someone you get to know them well and tend to pick up some of their personality traits. I want to know God more and “pick up His traits”.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

