From My Heart

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight. – Proverbs 3:5-6 -NIV

A Day of Rejoicing and Sadness

Today is a day of sadness but also a day for great rejoicing. How can both be true you ask?
The mother of my dear friend passed away in the wee hours of the morning. We are all grieving this wonderful woman because we will miss her. However it is also a reason for celebration. She is with our Lord and will be forever at peace. There is no doubt in our minds about that. She is singing his praises and who knows maybe even playing the organ! She is no longer in pain; she has a perfect and eternal body. Yes, there are a lot of mixed emotions.
I want to take a few moments here to remember this woman who I had the honour of getting to know. Even though I only knew her for 6 years she had an impact on my life.
She was a kind and gentle woman who was eager to help when she saw a need. Even if she didn’t feel up to attending a function she was always anxious to contribute something. One example is when women who attended the fall ladies retreat were treated to her banana muffins for breakfast. Our family and many others have been blessed on more than one occasion with her ever so famous lemon meringue pies. The list could go on and on…….Oh and don’t forget the Women’s Hospital Auxiliary bake sales! Her baking was always a great hit.
During the growing season she was busy canning and freezing fruits and vegetables for the winter. Who am I going to give my excess rhubarb to now? That was her industrious side.
There was another side to her. She loved her God and Jesus. No matter what you were talking about be it flowers, baking or sewing she would bring the conversation back around to thanking God for it all. This woman didn’t just talk her faith; she lived it. Yes, she liked it when I would praise her pies. She would smile and say thank you. But she would be quick to praise God that she was still able to do it. I loved to listen to her stories about how she came to know the Lord and how the red church on the hill came to be. She thanked God for the life he allowed her; for her husband and children. There were sad stories she shared with me as well and her eyes would tear up. But then again she would thank the Lord for helping her through those sad times and say she knew that somehow God used them for good as well.
I thank God that I was blessed to know this woman. I pray that I won’t forget her “old fashioned ways” of making a home and loving her Lord. Oh yes, I will miss her.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

