From My Heart

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight. – Proverbs 3:5-6 -NIV

Yes, it’s been a while!

I haven’t blogged for sometime now. It’s not that I haven’t had a lot to say but rather that God prompted me to be silent for a while.

I was being pulled in many directions and felt I was becoming very scattered. I lost focus on what God would have me put first. Some days it seemed I was being more reactive than proactive. I was exhausted emotionally and physically. By the evening I wondered if anyone had really saw Christ in me that day? Not that I had mistreated anyone but did they see the peace and focus that Christ gives. Many days I would say not.

So, I retreated. Not literally even though some of those I encounter on a regular basis may have thought so! I was intentionally more quiet and observant. I took some time to regroup and focus. Now I’m ready to share some of the journey.
First I had to slow down in everything starting with digesting God’s word. That is what I would like to share today. God wants us to meditate His word. That may sound a bit ominous but no need to worry; read on.

Meditation: To many of my generation this word has a bad connotation. You may think of Transcendental Meditation -A technique based on ancient Hindu writings by which one seeks to achieve a relaxed state through regular periods of meditation during which a mantra is repeated.
This is not the type of meditation that God is speaking of throughout scripture.
Psalm 1:2 NIV “but whose delight is in the law of the LORD, and who meditates on his law day and night.“
The word used here for meditates is hagah which means to murmur (in pleasure), to ponder. I should murmur scripture pleasantly to myself.

Psalm 119:99 NIV “I have more insight than all my teachers, for I meditate on your statutes.“
The word used here for meditate is sicah which means to reflect with deep devotion; to contemplate. I should quietly contemplate and reflect on scripture.

Psalm 19:14 NIV “May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.“
This is one of my favourite scriptures and it grieves me that often my words most likely are not pleasing to my Lord.
The word used here for meditation is higgayon which means a musical notation, murmuring sound. I should be singing at least in my heart His holy word.

1 Timothy 4:15 NKJ “Meditate on these things; give yourself entirely to them, that your progress may be evident to all.“
The word used here for meditate is meletao which means to ponder carefully with the mind, to muse upon. I should always be careful while reading scripture; not hurrying along so I can move on to the next thing. If I take my time and muse over His word it will be evident to everyone I encounter throughout my days. They will see Christ in me!

Yes, I could tell many stories about the blunders I made over the past few weeks but I won’t do that this time. I will just encourage you to meditate. Not just while you are reading your Bible but throughout your days. Ponder God’s word as you go through your days. Pray that the words of your mouth and the meditations of your heart be pleasing to your Lord so that they will be evident to all!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

