From My Heart

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight. – Proverbs 3:5-6 -NIV

Self-Deception

Search me, God, and know my heart;test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. Psalm 139:23-24

I was recently in a discussion that brought the passage of scripture to my mind. I have been mulling it over and over for a few days now. I have read commentaries. I have prayed asking God what this should mean to me and any Christ follower. In the past when I heard this scripture I thought simply that I should occasionally pray that God reveal to me anything in my life that wasn’t pleasing to Him, Something that I wasn’t aware of. Sounds easy enough. However, after the searching I’ve done the last few days I see that there is something deeper, something much more dangerous and threatening to our relationship with God; self-deception.
The word for search used in this scripture is that of searching by boring or digging such as used in searching for water or minerals. Not a gentle process
Barnes’ Notes on the Bible explains that God does search us and the psalmist is asking that God do just that so that he would not be under any delusion of deceiving himself. How often do we do just that? Scripture speaks of the heart being corrupt Jeremiah 17:9. Our tendency is to explain away our actions or thoughts and convince ourselves we are on the right track.
Know my anxious thoughts………the word translated thoughts here carries the idea of searching thoroughly. Not merely outward conduct but what are my purposes, what passes through my mind, what occupies my imagination and memory, what takes hold of my affections and controls my will. WOW!
We can so easily get off track and rely on our own understanding. We can be led by our own desires, our own preferences and soon convince ourselves that we are doing just fine. Self-deception I can tell you I was very humbled and a little bit shaken at how easily we can deceive ourselves.
It’s a good practice pray this prayer as the psalmist did………………Search me God………..
When you do pray this prayer be sincere and ready to adjust in the areas God reveals.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

