From My Heart

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight. – Proverbs 3:5-6 -NIV

One thing after another!

Recently I have had a few people say to me “It’s just been one thing after another”. And my reply to them more often than not was “Tell me about it!” Each time as those words were leaving my mouth heard that still small voice say “Why are you complaining?” The first couple of times I tried to justify my attitude with “I’ve been trying to do the right things and not so good things keep happening”. But I knew that attitude didn’t belong in my life. After all as a Child of God I should trust him enough to know the plans he has for my husband and me are perfect. There is a reason he is allowing everything; good and not so good in our estimates to come our way.
And as I said in a previous blog; I do not want to be wandering in the wilderness for 40 years as the Israelites did all because of my bad attitude.

As I was praying about and pondering these things this morning this is was God reminded me of and I tasted a bit of humble pie.
•Not sure how bills are going to be paid? There are many who have no heat or don’t have a hot shower to stand and think in like you are right now.
•Getting tired of very simple meals and want a nice cut of meat for supper? There are many who are lucky to have one meal a day.
•Concerned about health issues? My husband and I are blessed by having access to good medical care that doesn’t bury us with debt. There are many who cannot even see a doctor.
•Want new vehicles because our older ones are wearing out? We live in a town where we can walk most places and we have the means to repair the vehicles we have. Some people would think we are well to do with what we have.
•Repairs “need” to be made on our house? We have a solid warm home that is filled with love. Some have no place to call home; they lay their head down at night cold and alone.
I could go on and on but there is no need. I’m sure you get the jest of what I heard from the Lord as I was enjoying my hot shower this morning. Yes, God and I talk a lot while I’m in the shower. That is one time I am sure to slow down enough for him to get my attention.
Over the past couple of years I have been more intentional about slowing down and listening but I still have to be reminded. Especially when there is one thing after another in my life!

1 Comment»

  Toni wrote @

Thank you!


Leave a Reply

