From My Heart

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight. – Proverbs 3:5-6 -NIV

Taproot

A tree has what is known as a “taproot.” I looked up the definition of taproot. I found “a main root descending downward and giving off small lateral roots”. This gave me plenty to think about
When there is a lengthy drought and water in the ground dissipates, that root tirelessly tunnels through the ground deeper and deeper until it locates water.

We (my husband and I) are in a season right now of what some would say is a drought. There has been what I called in a previous blog “one thing after another” The hot winds of adversity and opposition are blowing fiercely. The way we have been able to survive this season is by extending our roots deeper to the source. Jesus said, “But those who drink the water I give will never be thirsty again. It becomes a fresh, bubbling spring within them, giving them eternal life.” John 4:14 NAS

I can tell the days when I’m not “tapped in”. I feel like I am withering from the hot winds.
It is not enough to merely resist the devil and what he throws our way. We must be submitted/tapped into God. (See James 4:7). Regardless of how long I have been a Christian, how close I think I am I know I must go deeper. As I do I always experience a wonderful sense of refreshment.
“But blessed is the one who trusts in the LORD, whose confidence is in him. They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.” Jeremiah 17: 7-8 NAS

Never fails to bear fruit; that brings me back to the taproot definition. You see the definition says that as it descends it gives off other roots. Have you ever noticed that new trees pop up from the roots of older ones? If we are tapped into to the Lord we should be bearing fruit; new growth should be springing up from our root system.

So, as I am feeling the hot winds of adversity on my face I am thankful for the Source that I’m tapped into. I pray I will bear fruit even in this season.

1 Comment»

  trustinghim4ever wrote @

I love your transparency Donna….it’s such an inspiration to me. I have always been open *after* the trials…..rarely through them…..I think I’ve missed having a lot of people praying for me because of this! I will be praying sister….I know He is the Glory and the Lifter of our heads! Thank you for your honesty….I love you oxoxoxox Deb


Leave a Reply

