From My Heart

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight. – Proverbs 3:5-6 -NIV

The Winding Road

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him and he will make your paths straight.” – Proverbs 3:5-6-NIV

You may or maybe not have noticed; this scripture is my “theme verse” for this blog. It is how I strive to live; leaning not on my own understanding through this journey called life. We are all on a journey. We become anxious when the journey is taking us places we are unsure of. We want to take control of the situation.  How well does that serve us?

Of recent years the focus of my journey is to become more like Jesus. The urgency of this focus has become more intense this past year. My desire is to live my life following His direction. Read last blog entry for more about that subject matter. At the end of my journey I hope to have accomplished the purpose and reached the destination that God has planned for me.

How should we move along in this journey? Do we wander hoping we are heading in the right direction? Do we trust our own instincts to tell us which turn to take? Every day, sometimes several times a day we face decisions that in the end will show who we trust. Is it our own understanding, the wisdom of the world or God’s ways?

Life is a walk much like the one my daughter, grandson and I took one day through a wetland area. We had a nice boardwalk most of the way that was winding though. But there were curves in the path that didn’t allow you to see what was ahead. There were trees and vegetation that sometimes obstructed your view. We were instructed to not get off the path.  I was tempted to wander off and explore. It looked very inviting. But we stayed on the path and it took us to where we needed to be.

Each day we make choices. Those choices determine where we will be tomorrow. That is if God has a tomorrow for us. That is never a guarantee. The one and only thing I found that I can trust in is that if I ask God for wisdom He always gives it to me in His timing. If I listen, follow His leading then I take the right path. Often He doesn’t even show us the path; just the next step. I sometimes become impatient with seeing just one step. I am tempted to wander off the path and explore much like I was that day in the wetland. Or worse yet I get in a hurry to “fix” things and don’t wait for God to show me the way. It is then that I lean on my own understanding, don’t wait or ignore God’s leading that I take wrong turns and wind up somewhere I never should have gone. But I need not despair. I fix my eyes, ears, my thoughts, and my heart back where it should be. I find my way back to the path I belong on and all is well.  
      

“Show me your ways, LORD, teach me your paths.
Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.” Psalm 25:4-5-NIV

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

